Our Club


In 1960 Glenfield Rovers commenced it’s humble beginnings as the “Chelsea Sugar Refinery” football team. It was then reformed under the guidance of Fons Scheirlinck and permitted to play Sunday football. In 1961, Chelsea Association Football Club was formed from the refinery team and affiliated to the Auckland Football Association. In 1963, Chelsea A.F.C. was renamed as Glenfield Rovers A.F.C. and moved to it’s current home today of McFetridge Park.

Today the club boasts a two level clubrooms consisting of a formal lounge, fully licensed bar and kitchen, thirteen changing rooms, four full size fields of which three are fully floodlit (fourth is planned for early 2016), an a 85 car capacity car park and recently constructed 200 person grandstand.

900 members enjoy a variety of levels of football which include 28 midget teams, 11 junior and 2 youth teams, 18 senior mens teams and 5 senior women’s teams. The midget programme is run on a Friday night which enables members the luxury of enjoying other winter sports as well and gives children the novelty of playing under floodlights. The junior and youth teams as well as most of the senior teams play in the Northern and Auckland Football Federation competitions in a season which lasts from early April through to late August.

The club also offers a seven aside summer tournament which goes from late October through to early March which attracts over 1000 participating members each year in what is arguably the best run summer football programme on The Shore.

Mens Premier Team League Honours:
1965 - Northern League Division Two B
1976 - Northern League Division Two
1987 - Northern League Division Two
1996 - Northern League Division One 
       Chatham Cup Quater Finals
2002 - Northern Premier League
2003 - Northern Premier League
2008 - Chatham Cup Semi Finals
2010 - Chatham Cup Quater Finals
2013 - Northern League Division One
2014 - Northern Premier League

Womens Premier Team Honours:
1989 - Northern Women's League Division One
1991 - AWFA Knockout Shield runners-up
2007 - National Women's Knockout Cup runners-up
2010 - Northern Premier Women's League
2011 - National Women's Knockout Cup winner
       Northern Premier Women's League
       Northern Premier Women's League Cup
2013 - National Women's Knockout Cup runners-up
2014 - National Women's Knockout Cup winners
2015 - National Women's Knockout Cup winners

For ground closures during the week for training, please call the North Shore Sports Field Line on (09) 4868616 select option 3, updated 2pm daily.

Game cancellations are broadcast on the NewsTalk ZB cancellation service on 89.4FM & 1080AM every hour in Auckland.

Also keep an eye on our twitter account, we update with our own field closures throughout summer & winter.

Above is our winter field layouts, on the top is McFetridge Park & below is Onepoto Domain.